FIRST IMPRESSIONS: Summer 2015 (III)

So here’s something new I thought I’d do. Took a minute and got my hands on the episode 01s for a whole bunch of shows airing from the Summer 2015 anime lineup (aired as of the post’s date)— mostly to see what else to add to my backlog… but might as well share my initial viewing thoughts on them as well. I’ll save my personal tastes and remarks for another time, just the meat and potatoes here for now. Disclaimer: there will be a few shows I won’t cover as I’ll be adding them for sure (sequels to shit I already plan to watch) or instantly disregarding them (sequels to shit I don’t plan to watch anyway)


Kuusen Madoushi Kouhosei no Kyoukan

  • Jumps straight into the action, pretty cool
  • More fantasy magic action stuff hmm?
  • OP is fitting to the show, no complaints there I guess
  • Wow, the cliches sure are aplenty in this show
  • Art is nothing noteworthy, nothing bad either
  • I’m not sure what this show is about, about 3/4th way through the episode and it’s all talk, talk, talk
  • ED is okay, not as nice as the OP
  • Male lead looks fun to watch
  • There are some shit need explaining, so I’ll be keeping an eye on this. Added to backlog for now

Senki Zesshou Symphogear GX: Believe in Justice and Hold a Determination to Fist.

  • A sequel to the [Senki Zesshou Symphogear] franchise
  • Girls singing, missiles launching, spaceships blowing up… what the actual fuck is going on?
  • So when there’s no sci-fi shit going on, it seems to be a cute girls doing cute things SOL
  • Now there’s music/idol show? What the fuck man
  • Now back to sci-fi transforming girls and shit, okay
  • The actual music is pretty good though (OP, ED, inserts, etc)
  • I don’t like it. Pass, pass, pass

Himouto! Umaru-chan

  • I remember partially skimming through the manga source material some time ago so I have some familiarity with this show (fwiw, I didn’t like the manga that much)
  • OP has fun visuals but the actual song is mediocre
  • I can tell based off the premise and style that this would have been 100x better as a ~10 minute TV short or something. A full length episode of this crap is overkill
  • I dislike seeing the female drawn in the chibi/super-deformed style, it’s way too excessive. They should’ve kept her in normal form while allowing for chibi reactions every now and then
  • As with the OP, visuals are nice but the actual song is (yawns)
  • A cute little comedy but I’m suspicious of the long term entertainment value; not sure if I’ll add to backlog yet

Okusama ga Seitokaichou!

  • TV shorts, 8 minutes episodes, comedy = win
  • Condoms flying on the screen within the first 30 seconds = win
  • Holy shit, this art style looks outdated, reminds me of mid-2000s stuff
  • LOL. This premise- I see this in manga all the time but not as often in anime
  • A fun little show. Can’t go wrong with some quick comedic episodes to satisfy your funnies
  • I like it; added to backlog

Overlord

  • There sure a lot of fantasy shows this season
  • Choppy animation and art, tsk tsk. That’s a no-no for action shows
  • OP is a decent listen, the engrish is questionable though
  • MMORPG again? Well shit, what the hell– this is kind of cool
  • ED is ~okay, the auto tuned voice is a bit distracting
  • The setup for this show is pretty interesting; added to backlog…for now

Ranpo Kitan: Game of Laplace

  • I can sense the symbolism/pretentiousness already
  • OP is different from what I usually hear– didn’t make it any more enjoyable though
  • Ugh, some of these VAs are questionable
  • I like the presentation so far, the artwork is clean as well
  • The characters seem pretty diverse, nothing to nitpick at yet for now
  • I’m not a huge fan of mystery/semi-horror stuff so I’ll give it a few more episodes in the future
  • Added to backlog… for now
Leave a comment

Leave a comment.

