FIRST IMPRESSIONS: Summer 2015 (II)

So here’s something new I thought I’d do. Took a minute and got my hands on the episode 01s for a whole bunch of shows airing from the Summer 2015 anime lineup (aired as of the post’s date)— mostly to see what else to add to my backlog… but might as well share my initial viewing thoughts on them as well. I’ll save my personal tastes and remarks for another time, just the meat and potatoes here for now. Disclaimer: there will be a few shows I won’t cover as I’ll be adding them for sure (sequels to shit I already plan to watch) or instantly disregarding them (sequels to shit I don’t plan to watch anyway)


GATE: Jieitai Kanochi nite, Kaku Tatakaeri

  • A mix of fantasy and military? Cool?
  • Surprisingly good OP with decent visuals
  • Oh wow, I think this is the first time I seen an older male lead; very refreshing
  • Well shit, that escalated quickly
  • Yo, I’ma be honest– I dislike military shows in general but this is some interesting shit
  • I’m interested in the male lead so I’ll keep an eye on this, not sure if I’ll add to backlog

Jitsu wa Watashi wa

  • Vampire shows are never good…ugh, a school setting too?
  • OP is… oddly catchy? It’s giving me [Rosario Vampire] vibes in fact
  • Pathetic-ish male lead’s concept is that he is bad at keeping secrets; (remembers this is a vampire show)… (rolls eyes)
  • Art is somewhat… nice? It feels a little outdated but rather fitting I guess
  • Fuck, this is a quirky little show. I like it; added to backlog

Joukamachi no Dandelion

  • Holy fuck, that’s a lot of kids. Of course, red hair is the lead ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • Looks like it’ll be some cute slice of life comedy… with fantasy themes? The fuck?
  • This is a rather interesting genre mashup and concept
  • The potential is definitely there; added to backlog

Million Doll

  • What the fuck is this CGI / flash-animated crap?
  • ~8 minute TV shorts with a music/idol theme… eh
  • Damn, this art is terribad– real amatuer-like
  • Pass, pass, pass

Miss Monochrome: The Animation 2

  • Sequel to the first season [Miss Monochrome: The Animation]
  • Another 8 minute TV short with idol/music themes? The fuck?
  • Oh hell no, is the female lead going to sound & talk like that all the time? Fuck.that.
  • Art is suspect as fuck too
  • Pass, pass, pass

Monster Musume no Iru Nichijou

  • Holy . shit . fuck . yes
  • I actually have the manga source material on my “plan to read” list so I’m somewhat familiar with this show
  • This will probably be this season’s top ecchi rom-com harem
  • It’s like [To LOVE-Ru] but instead of alien girls, we get monster girls. Best girl wars will take place
  • Expect the usual shit when dealing with these types of shows. You either love it or hate it immediately
  • … added to backlog ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Outbreak Company | Aniwhat? Aniwho? Anime.

Leave a comment.

