FIRST IMPRESSIONS: Summer 2015 (I)

So here’s something new I thought I’d do. Took a minute and got my hands on the episode 01s for a whole bunch of shows airing from the Summer 2015 anime lineup (aired as of the post’s date)— mostly to see what else to add to my backlog… but might as well share my initial viewing thoughts on them as well. I’ll save my personal tastes and remarks for another time, just the meat and potatoes here for now. Disclaimer: there will be a few shows I won’t cover as I’ll be adding them for sure (sequels to shit I already plan to watch) or instantly disregarding them (sequels to shit I don’t plan to watch anywa


Akagami no Shirayuki-hime

  • Artwork looks fine I gues– red hair! That’s my fetish ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • Music and sounds are on point; good buildup and tempo
  • Looks like there gon’ be some romance and shit
  • Seems like a shoujo romance, set in historic times, with some drama, action, and humor mixed in
  • I’ll keep an eye on this one, not sure if I’ll add to backlog

Aoharu x Kikanjuu

  • Artwork looks nice, it’ll probably look better once it gets cleaned up by fansub groups
  • Male lead has an… annoying VA
  • Oh shit– that explains the voice and shit
  • I like the characters and animation so far
  • Seems like a very energetic slapstick(?)/action comedy akin to [Binbougami ga!]
  • I like it; added to backlog

Aquarion Logos

  • This seems to be a sequel to the franchise… or something
  • Why does the art look so… blurry? I take that back, it’s pretty bad
  • Mecha sci-fi? Sorry guys, not my cup of tea
  • Insert songs were pretty good to listen to, fwiw
  • Nope, pass on this one

Bikini Warriors

  • 10/10 based off title alone
  • Is this a MMORPG show?
  • Fan service + ecchi aplenty
  • Art could be a bit more refined considering it’s an eye-candy show but I’ll take it
  • 5 minute TV shorts? Prime fap entertainment material right here
  • I like it; added to backlog

Chaos Dragon: Sekiryuu Seneki

  • What is this…?
  • Art is whatever, seems to have a lot of bloom present
  • There sure are a lot of kids in this show
  • Dude what the fuck? This show is surprisingly dark
  • Looks like some historic, supernatural-ish, action-oriented show… mixed with fantasy tidbits?
  • It looks like a decent show if you like those themes, but I’ll pass

Charlotte 

  • Male lead has interesting concept to him
  • Art is good, not bad looking at all
  • High school setting so expect certain cliches
  • High school setting but with supernatural powers?! Looks like another [Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de]
  • I dig the setup, like the characters, and enjoy the premise; added to backlog

Classroom Crisis 

  • Political anime(?). It’s been a while since I’ve seen one of these
  • Very modern, borderline futuristic themes
  • Art is acceptable; very crisp actually
  • School setting with aviation themes, sorta like [Rail Wars] but with a different skin?
  • Futuristic-ish drama, action, military/political show with some comedic tones
  • Added to backlog… for now

Gangsta 

  • Jesus Christ, dat OP- this is gonna be a popular show for sure
  • Mafioso themes, I can dig it
  • Reminds me of a more modern, 2015 rendition of [Getbackers]
  • ED is equally as good, holy shit
  • Mature themes + kickass OP + cool as fuck lead characters? Winning anime formula right here
  • I like it; added to backlog

Gatchaman Crowds Insight

  • This is the sequel to the first [Gatchaman Crowds] series
  • I have ZERO experience with the whole Gatchaman universe/lore so… bare with me
  • This artwork reminds me of like, [Rolling Girls] or [Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann] and shit
  • Unique visuals in the OP, doesn’t sound that good though
  • Sci-fi / Superpowers/ Superhero themes eh?
  • Seems like a fun show, probably a must-watch for Gatchaman lovers, but not my cup of tea so I’ll pass
Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment.

